Megagrant Leader Prof. Ian F. Akyildiz is the 2017 IEEE Communications Society TCCN Recognition Award Recipient

Prof. Akyildiz is recognized as the 2017 IEEE Communications Society TCCN Recognition Award recipient ‘for pioneering contributions to spectrum sensing, spectrum sharing algorithms, and communication protocols for cognitive radio networks’. The scientific award is organized by Technical Committee on Cognitive Networks (TCCN) whose purpose is to establish a platform for the cognitive networking research, development, policy making, and standardization community to interact and exchange technical ideas to identify major challenges and also drive solutions in the development of cognitive networking technologies.

Prof. Akyildiz is a scientist with a worldwide reputation, well-known for his achievements in architecture and algorithms for novel cellular networks, terahertz communications, cognitive radio networks and other fields connected to modern and future wireless networks. His scientific works are in great demand, and recently he was included in the TOP-50 most cited scientists in computer science with his h-index of 106.

Supported by the Russian government (Megagrant’17 Call), Prof. Akyildiz founded a new Wireless Networks Laboratory at the Institute for Information Transmission Problems of the Russian Academy of Sciences. This lab focuses on the latest trends in design and optimization of the 5G wireless networks and beyond, in the development of modern and future Wi-Fi technologies.

Prof. Akyildiz is the Ken Byers Chair Professor with the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) at Georgia Institute of Technology (Georgia Tech), the Director of the Broadband Wireless Networking (BWN) Laboratory and Chair of the Telecommunications Group at the School of ECE at Georgia Tech. He chairs the telecommunications technical interest group in ECE and leads the Broadband Wireless Networking Lab. In addition to his work in cognitive radio networks, he conducts research in nanonetworks, Long Term Evolution (LTE) advanced networks, and wireless sensor networks.

Prof. Akyildiz is a winner of numerous awards, including Distinguished Faculty Achievement Award from School of ECE (Georgia Tech, 2005), Georgia Tech Faculty Research Author Award (2004), ACM SIGMOBILE Outstanding Contribution Award (2003), Best Tutorial Paper Award (IEEE Communications Society, 2003), IEEE Harry M. Goode Memorial award (IEEE Computer Society, 2002), IEEE Leonard G. Abraham Prize award (IEEE Communications Society, 1997) and many others.